Giving to the Department of Design

Those wishing to support the Department of Design may do so through the following gift funds, administered by The Ohio State University Foundation. Gifts may be directed to student scholarships, or to other initiatives that support the Department's efforts.

Please use the below links to go directly to individual fund pages, where gifts may be made.

Gifts may also be directed to:

Katherine J. Goliver, Senior Director, Arts & Humanities

Department Initiatives

The Reinhart Butter Annual Design Affair Fund is used to support a workshop, round-table, debate, or lecture by renowned experts within the professional disciplines associated with The Ohio State University Department of Design; the purpose of the event is the advancement of both theory and practice, preferably by engaging the audience in some form of participatory activities.

Department of Design Discretionary Fund supports the department of design at the discretion of the department chair.


Department of Design Research Fund supports undergraduate research projects in the Department of Design. Expenditures approved by the department chair or his/her designee.



Information Visualization and Interactive Media Fund supports research, education, training, and software acquisition in the areas of interactive media, user experience, usability, information design and motion graphics.

Department Scholarships

The Sara Jane Pyne Memorial Scholarship in the Visual Arts was established in 1981, with a bequest from Sara Jane Pyne (BFA, 1941) for scholarships to deserving students in the visual arts and design.

The Gim and Jan Jay Scholarship was endowed with gifts from John C. Jay, BFA, 1971, in the name of his parents, Gim and Jan Jay, and is to be used to encourage and support students of Asian descent who seek careers in the visual or performing arts and design.

The Charles Wallschlaeger Scholarship Fund was established in 1986, with gifts from alumni, faculty, staff, and members of the design community to recognize Charles Wallschlaeger's thirty three years of service as a Professor, nineteen of those years as Chairperson of the Department of Design. The income from those gifts is awarded to an outstanding undergraduate or graduate design students.

The Edith Fergus-Gilmore Scholarship was established from gifts from Robert H., John C. and Elizabeth O. Fergus in honor of their mother and mother-in-law Edith Fergus-Gilmore. The scholarship is used to assist students in the purchase of materials for and the production of fine and applied arts.

The Anthony Byington Art Angel Scholarship Fund is available to Visual Communication Design students entering their senior year in the program, and is funded by the family of alumnus Anthony Byington as a tribute to his memory.

The Minority Opportunity and Retention (MORE) Scholarship Fund is available to undergraduate minority students in the Department of Design, sophomore through senior years, holding a minimum of 2.0 cumulative grade point average.